Healing Words

_20170505_151744

Words have the power to hurt and to heal. My life used to be defined by a set of words I learned from my parents:

Worthless

Good-for-nothing

Pointless

Problem

Heartless

It took my fragile life being dashed to pieces before I found the strength to learn new words.

When my ex-husband was arrested, I realized that my life up to that point had been controlled by others. Everything I experienced and every choice I had made was about keeping other people happy, despite that it all made me feel worse. I wanted my parents acceptance so badly, that I didn’t care how much I hurt myself, because when they loved me I would feel better.

I was wrong.

I began to feel better when I realized that there was absolutely nothing that I could do to make anyone, even my parents, love me. I am who I am and people need to accept me for me, not who they think I am or try to make me.

I learned, through many therapy sessions ad discussions with a pastor friend, that I am loved, I am treasured and I am priceless.

There is nobody on earth exactly like me. I am one of a kind, unique. I am amazing.

Slowly, those positive words began to fill my mind, replacing the negative ones.

The positive words have come to define me now. I cling to them. I teach them to my children and my students. I take chances. I make good choices. I refuse to allow people to be in my life who mistreat me.

The positive words have healed me and made me whole.

Have I forgotten about the negative words?

Absolutely not.

I remember daily how they made me feel and I do my best to make sure nobody else feels that way from the words I use.

I want to speak healing words into the lives of others so they can begin to see the power of positive words in their life.

Leave a comment